You aint even gotta ask me bruh part four

1 10 2007

img_2505.jpgimg_2507.jpgimg_2461.jpg

I’m sitting eating dinner in the Italian eatery in the Sheraton yesterday when one of the waiters asked me why I would want to move back to America. He said and I quote “America is the land of pressure, Ethiopia the land of pleasure.” That has to be the smartest statement I’ve heard thus far. I still don’t have an answer as to why I am going back…shouts to my peeps Taz who went back but will b back soon enough for the Beyonce and Ludacris show. Apologizes for the fuzzy pics they should smooth out when you click on them. more to come…

Actions

Information

12 responses

1 10 2007
Big Homie

First

Chicks off the hook.

1 10 2007
The XFacta

Nice chicks there! I have met some nice girls from Ethopia here also…. I got you on the blogroll homie… stay up!

1 10 2007
benhameen

Thanks X. yeah they all up and down the east coast but you gotta come to the heartland to see how it really gets down….

2 10 2007
HHF

“America is the land of pressure, Ethiopia the land of pleasure.”

There are benefits to living in all countries, but that statement is sooo deep. We dont realize how much pressure we have in the US. Overworked and……let me stop before I start a sermon. The chicks are nice, just dont catch nothing from too many women.

I need to add this site to my blogroll when I stop being lazy. Useful ish…peace.

2 10 2007
candyraindrops

real talk

2 10 2007
benhameen

Thanks HHF and candyraindrops…LL that you? anyway yeah HHF Ive been very careful about what and who Im seeing out here but its definitely a scary situation out here. Even though recent reports say that they are doing a lot better at controlling the HIV/STD situation out here.

2 10 2007
Big Homie

DC is DC. Nothing much popping here. Same ol same ol. I guess you can say the opposite from over there. 3 day weekend coming so hopefully somewhat better.

2 10 2007
Dr.Fuxie Teacher of Etherology

Yo that chick with the tank top Ben’Ha she can get it early

2 10 2007
Words is Born

they remind me of this bangin’ ethiopian i used to always see. shorties could get it forilla.

2 10 2007
candyraindrops

hey meen, yup its LL….

2 10 2007
benhameen

man everyone loves blaze. she is a cutie…i really love the one in the lower corner….in the middle…sexy….

4 10 2007
rec

so I’m posting my opinion…(just for you **remember you asked me to)

I think that it is very interesting for the “waiter” in the “Italian restaurant” to say that to you…and although I see where he is going I think that in the end it is an unrealistic statement. I think one of the main reasons why he said that you could live in the land of “pleasures” is because at the end of the day he preceived that you could afford these pleasures. I think that it is important to note that there is a difference between the everyday Ethiopian and the Ethiopians that you are around within the big city. Pleasures are afford to people who have the means to support the subtle luxuries life can afford. Plus you being foreigner you will see things in your world are very different. But I think that the average person who has to carve out an everyday existence will suffer from the very same “pressures” that Americans have…if not more. The pressures of Western culture permeate even in Ethiopia (ask anyone about the junta). It is just that the manifestation’s are different. It is like me going back home to Jamaica how I live here (Toronto) and how I would live there are two very different worlds.

Anyone can live in the land of milk and honey no matter where they be at…the difference is at what price. I’m pretty sure that life beyond the walls of the hotel and the big city are very different that what you or I would experience.

i WOULD SAY HOWEVER, that being in the motherland must be one of the best pleasures to experience especially in the the land of Ethiopia (jah rastafari) the only uncolonized country in Africa…so I can fully appreciate one’s willings to want to stay…heck I would too if afforded the same opportunity.

So I guess I’m saying yeah it is nice to have eye candy (the women are beautiful) and whatnot and those guilty pleasures at the end of the day you deserve that…but it is important to think about what is it really like to live there are an average person as well too. I think that maybe we all could marinate on that…would he have said that to you under different circumstances? If you were not American and eating in a fancy restaurant that most Ethiopians could not afford to eat at?

Leave a Reply

