Impressions of Ethiopia

24 09 2007

The above photos are taken at Kuriftu Resort and Spa. If you visit Addis take a trip there. Tell em Benhameen sent you.

The first thing to be said about Ethiopia is potential. It is a country full of a proud people who have a strong link to their culture and history. Before I came here I always wondered why Ethiopians could be so haughty and stand offish at times. Being here you come to understand that coming from a land in Africa with direct links to the first civilization can make you a bit proud. Not without reason though as I said the culture dates back to original man. I’m no historian so I’m not going to begin to get into the deep history of the country but it’s definitely worth googling when you have a minute or an hour.
The main point I want to make right now that African Americans and people in general could learn from Ethiopians is the love they have. They welcome you into their homes and hearts the instant they meet you. Perhaps it’s because they don’t have many material goods but even poor people in America do not act or carry themselves the way the people here do. Even those with more money than the average Ethiopian have a dignity and kindess about them that is definitely lacking in the average American. I hope that in the coming years of prosperity they do not lose that quality it is easily the most amazing thing I have witnessed here.

Actions

Information

13 responses

24 09 2007
D. Billz

I think that Africans in general usually have that demeanor when on Amerikkkan soil. I haven’t had too many interactions with Ethiopans (except for our *ahem* “mutual acquaintant”, lol) but the ones that I have seemed like good people. As I strive to know more about the origins (starting with looking up my family tree) I’ll definitely do more homework on Ete’ culture. However, Nigerians still get on my damn nerves. But I’ll end it on a good note by sayin’ I love all my people from all nations of Home.

25 09 2007
Rasheed Wallets aka landLORD

… thanks for the views from Africa …

… Senegal > Ethiopia …

25 09 2007
green eyes

i havent had the pleasure of making it to Africa yet, however my own travels throughout the Caribbean and South America also show that it is those with the least material goods are in fact the most generous and giving people you will ever meet.

25 09 2007
green eyes

those pics are great bytheway

25 09 2007
benhameen

… Senegal > Ethiopia …

hey hey hey i never been to Senegal but this is the originator….thusly

Ethiopia > Senegal

thanks for the love though people….and as soon as I can remeber the name of the place where I took those pics….

25 09 2007
HHF

Good look on the post….enjoying the knowledge

25 09 2007
Shanti

Meen–

Crazy shit but I was talking about you last night. Yes, I sometimes bring Nahright into my real life lol. Anyway I met this dude from Ethiopia last night and he was asking me if I’ve ever been. I was like nahhh but I know this cat that’s over there right now and I started talking about Addis and the Sheraton and you djing and shit.

25 09 2007
Mac Brown

I think Americans can learn alot from other cultures with regard to being more open and friendly to others. It seems that countries with the most material wealth are usualy void of basic compassion & caring towards their fellow man. It only comes out temporarily in moments of crisis.

25 09 2007
LL(not the rappa)

good post meen…cosign what the others said, they have little but still they manage to be humble and loving…..*thinks about doing some research on Haile Selassie+ Ethopia+Bob*

25 09 2007
LL(not the rappa)

edit:ethiopia

25 09 2007
benhameen

@shanti…smh at you using me to kick game to the lil habeshah man…

and love to everyone else….

26 09 2007
skimaskway

… thanks for the views from Africa …

… Senegal > Ethiopia …

^^^^^^^^^^^^

Maybe you could enlighten us with the reason you feel that way. I’m assuming you’ve been to both countries, why do you think that Mr. Wallace. How did you view both countries, and why were you more fond of Senegal?

15 05 2011
ToeTacTic

Sorry but Nubia is Africas first civilization. ‘ethiopians’ are abyssinian not the ancient ethiopians.

Leave a Reply

